The wall-paintings in the lite of the katholikon of Dionisiou monastery (1546/1547) on Mount Athos
Abstract
The wall-paintings of the Monastery of St. John the Baptist of New Stone, now known as of Dionysiou Monastery, goes back according to the written inscription above the entrance to the nave records in the year 1546/7. The Katholikon belongs to the type of four-columned, cruciform with dome and lateral conches (choirs) and its construction dates back to the year 1540.The painter of the Katholikon of Dionysiou Monastery- identifies, according to later testimony with the rumored painter Zorzis or Tzortzes, to whom the frescoes of Great Meteoron (1552), Dousikon (1557), Roussanou (1560) and Docheiariou (1568) Monasteries have been attributed too.Overall the decoration of the lite at Dionysiou Monastery develops in two zones. In the upper zone of the walls and ceiling sufferings of saints (Menologion) are illustrated, whose memory is celebrated in the first four months of the church year (September to December). Full-bodied monastic saints are illustrated parametrically around the lower zone ...
show more
![]() | Download full text in PDF format (13.32 MB)
(Available only to registered users)
|
All items in National Archive of Phd theses are protected by copyright.
|
Usage statistics
VIEWS
Concern the unique Ph.D. Thesis' views for the period 07/2018 - 07/2023.
Source: Google Analytics.
Source: Google Analytics.
ONLINE READER
Concern the online reader's opening for the period 07/2018 - 07/2023.
Source: Google Analytics.
Source: Google Analytics.
DOWNLOADS
Concern all downloads of this Ph.D. Thesis' digital file.
Source: National Archive of Ph.D. Theses.
Source: National Archive of Ph.D. Theses.
USERS
Concern all registered users of National Archive of Ph.D. Theses who have interacted with this Ph.D. Thesis. Mostly, it concerns downloads.
Source: National Archive of Ph.D. Theses.
Source: National Archive of Ph.D. Theses.







